I Love My CPAP Machine

I haven’t written in 2 weeks because I’ve been very busy sleeping.

Two weeks ago I spent 2 nights at a sleeping lab where they tested me for sleep apnea.

I have Obstructive Sleep Apnea. It’s a sleep disorder.

That means that I stop breathing while I sleep, sometimes up to 35 times per hour. This is not good for my brain or body, which need oxygen to function.

The doctor said I had a choice; I could have an operation with a 50% chance of success or use a CPAP machine (Continuous Postitive Airway Pressure) with a 100% rate of success.

Last week I had 2 appointments at the sleep lab: Monday and Thursday nights. I slept with the CPAP machine for the first time Monday night. Tuesday morning I woke up and felt like “a million bucks!”
I had energy the entire day and didn’t yawn or feel tired once. It was an incredible feeling.

I was so excited, that I called up the hospital and asked (begged) them to let me ta a CPAP machine home that night to practice with until I returned on Thursday night. They agreed and I’ve been sleeping with it ever since.

I feel re-born. I can’t tell you how wonderful it is to make it through the day without constantly yawning and feeling tired and stressed.

The funny thing is, I didn’t even realize that I was tired and stressed. When I was together with people, I always had energy, but when I was alone, I always felt like taking a nap and often did.

The CPAP machine is not loud.

The mask I wear is comfortable. I chose the mask that covers only my nose. It’s very soft and flexible.

My husband is not repulsed by it.

He says it’s better than listening to me stop breathing.

I’m actually falling in love with my machine because I feel so fantastic.

The only drawback is that when I go to sleep at night I now look like Darth Vader .

14 Responses to “I Love My CPAP Machine”


  1. 1 Dave April 15, 2009 at 6:41 pm

    I hope I have the same results as you!

    I was also diagnosed the same way and my ENT wants to do surgery. a prerequsite to that is a I have to do a second night in a sleep lab with the cpap machine.

    been researching the heck out of it trying to determine which is the best course of action and this is the first article I have seen from anybody that loves it!

    Hopefully I will (or can learn to). Surgery seems like a more obvious choice then sleeping in a mask, but for the apparent pain and duration of pain, and lingering effects I am reading about (choking on small parts of food, food and drinks coming out the nose, etc) and only a 50% success rate, it does not seem too appealing!

  2. 2 Sydni February 18, 2010 at 4:46 pm

    my boyfriend says i look like an Air Force pilot with my mask, he’s so sweet. i think i look like an alien elephant. ;o) i hope i can learn to love mine someday like you have. :o)

    • 3 Suzy Schwarz February 18, 2010 at 7:24 pm

      Hi Sydni,

      Thanks for your message!

      I’d never thought of an Air Force Pilot before. Your boyfriend

      is very sweet.

      I think you may be right about the alien elephant. LOL

      Have you noticed a difference in your quality of sleep?

      Do you have more energy during the day than before?

  3. 4 cpap machine April 12, 2011 at 12:12 am

    My cousin also was diagnosed with disease like yours… She was advised to take into surgery but due to financial constraints, she doesn’t undergone the process… She is just using CPAP mask. Before she keeps on complaining on the discomfort brought about by the mask but later on she learns to work with it. And I guess she now learns to love it like you, so discomfort is only at first….:)

  4. 5 Brenda Merryfield July 25, 2011 at 7:20 pm

    Hey, I love mine, too. This is best thing I have ever done for my health.
    Words alone cannot describe how much better I feel since I have been using my CPAP. I was diagnosed with severe sleep apnea in June 2011.
    I had over 100 apneas over a 2 hour period! I dreadded going to sleep because I thought I would die (really). I was so sleep deprived I would fall
    asleep while talking to people, I had been stopped by law enforcement for sleep driving. It was so bad I was even having hallucinations. I finally went to my doctor and she sent me to a sleep center who then sent me to the sleep lab that same night. Needless to say, the lab put me on a CPAP within the first hour of my test. By the next morning I was already feeling better. The lab sent me for my machine the next day and I have used it every night/day (I am a shift worker) since. Now, I look forward to sleep because I feel restored when I wake. Many lingering health issues are going away. My mood is tremendously improved. I am exercising more and eating better. I feel like my old self again.

  5. 6 Enoch Duvel August 6, 2012 at 8:33 am

    I use cpap masks everytime i sleep and i found it to be very effective in getting me sleep faster at night.`::”.

    Till next time http://www.healthmedicinelab.com/wheat-allergy-symptoms/

  6. 7 lyricsonthelake November 1, 2012 at 7:30 pm

    I actually found this post by googling “I love my CPAP” because I do. And I only got it yesterday morning! As soon as I got home yesterday, I took an 8 hour nap with my CPAP. Then last night was my first night with it. I’m already in love.
    I had 63 apneas an hour and I seriously was scared that one time my body wouldn’t wake me up in time and I would just die. I was constantly waking up at night feeling like I was suffocating. Last night was so peaceful. Yes, it takes a little getting used to sleeping with the mask, but for the first time I didn’t wake up feeling like I was dying. I woke up really happy and hopeful. I’m already in love.

  7. 8 Jim Fletcher April 3, 2013 at 5:01 pm

    JimInPensacola
    I’m another cpap lover. I, too, had it bad. Sleep clinic charted an average of 78 apnea events per hour! I always knew there was a problem. I couldn’t make it through a movie. I’d fall asleep reading. Sometimes, I’d wake up at the wheel and wonder “was I asleep 1 second, 10 seconds?” Now, I wake up feeling like I could hang the moon! I did have to go through about five different masks to find one that worked AND didn’t kill my poor nose, but I stayed with it. Now, I can’t imagine sleeping without the machine.

    • 9 suzyschwarz April 3, 2013 at 5:46 pm

      Hi JimInPensacola,

      Thanks for your comment. Congratulations on your new life! Isn’t getting a good night’s sleep the best thing ever?

  8. 10 sleep apnea May 30, 2013 at 3:20 pm

    Good day! Would you mind if I share your blog with my myspace group?
    There’s a lot of folks that I think would really appreciate your content. Please let me know. Thanks

  9. 11 Diane July 30, 2013 at 4:33 am

    I, too, love my c-pap. It is set on level 17, which was severe sleep apnea. With it, I sleep soundly, I don’t move, cough, snore, and I breathe better than I have ever breathed in my life. I remember as a child, crying to my parents that I couldn’t breathe. When I put on my c-pap, I am out in about 2 minutes and wake up refreshed. The problem is, last night I had a sleep study done. I only could sleep 1 hour and then 1-1/2 hours later. I squirmed, coughed, snored, and my flap in my throat closed up constantly every 15 seconds or so if I didn’t swallow and relase the flap. And now they are telling me I don’t have apnea anymore because I’ve lost 25 lbs. They said I didn’t stop breathing the required 5 times an hour, and my oxygen level was in the 90’s all night, but I did snore a lot. Well, I came home, put on my level 17 c-pap and slept like a baby. No squirming, coughing, snoring, and I woke up refreshed. If I don’t have sleep apnea anymore, why is the level 17 setting heavenly for me? I am NOT going to stop using it, otherwise, I feel like I have a clothespin on my nose and gasp for breath. I think their study was wrong. If I had to give up this machine, I would face misery every night. I can’t find any advice online about this, but DOESN”T IT PROVE I need this machine at this setting, if it makes me feel great? I would appreciate any input.

  10. 12 nicole August 16, 2013 at 7:37 pm

    I am a 44 year old nurse and I have been using my sleep test machine for two months and I was only supposed to use it for four nights! I didnt want to send it back because I have been feeling so much better! I finally sucked it and sent it back and today I get my REAL machine and it even has humidity! Im so excited, the last four days I have felt awful, I had so many aches, headaches, feeling tired, etc. For all of you people who are afraid, dont be…you will wonder why you waited so long to get one. I am much happier, more energized and doing much better on my diet.

  11. 13 jual jamsi October 7, 2015 at 8:04 pm

    Hi there, every time i used to check weblog posts here early in the daylight, since i enjoy to find out more and
    more.

  12. 14 女子恋速報 January 5, 2017 at 10:01 am

    先日コンビニで立ち読みしたVERYで、ハイドロキノンが配合された化粧品はシミを消す効果が高いものほどいいという記事を見ました。化粧品の成分は流行りが早いから、次から次へと新しい物が出ては気づけば消えている気がします。
    ストレッチもそうですけど、美白にもいろいろトレンドがあるからいつでも勉強してないと失笑の対象になってしまって危険ですね。
    ドラッグストアに行けば美白を謳う化粧品がかなりの新商品が出てて、さぁ美肌を目指すなら、美白しないとダメですよ!と背中をぐいぐい押されているようです。
    ヒアルロン酸、コラーゲン、ビタミン誘導体あたりはもはや定番ですね。
    ビタミンはグレープフルーツから摂るといいと言われていましたが、最近ではフルーツは糖度が高いからサプリメントがいいみたいですよね。
    卵のコレステロールは体に悪いみたいに言われていたのが、卵のコレステロールは善玉だからダイエット中でも大丈夫になったみたいですし。


Leave a Reply

April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   Jun »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Self-Help Sites I love

Helpful Sites for Expats

Starcounter

counter easy hit

