Three things I learned about twitter today

1. It’s who you know.

2. It’s  like high school.

3. It’s nice to have followers, but nicer to have friends.

I began my twitter adventure yesterday. I read a blog post that said if you follow 12 well known people on twitter, you’ll attract many followers.

I was curious and I wanted to try it.

It works. When you follow a well known person, or have them on your list of friends, their “famous” name appears at the top of your twitter feed for a moment and it looks like you are friends with them.

Followers of that person think you might be important and they decide to follow you too.

After becoming a follower of the chosen 12, I found a list someone had posted that had names of 249 people who would follow you back if you followed them. On this list were people like Obama, Nasa, Starbucks and Guy Kawasaki. I clicked on a few of them to follow and right away I got several  auto- responder emails informing me that they’d be following me too. I think there is some sort of contest going on to see who can get the most followers.

I was feeling lucky, so I registered for a site called ifollow where 700 people will follow you if you follow them. I was on fire!

I clicked on about 20 new friends and waited.

It felt a little like the popularity contests in high school used to feel to me, as I clicked on the names I thought “please follow me too.”

I realized this was not mentally healthy for me but I was hooked.

Then, after trying to read many (7) of my new followers profiles to decide if I wanted to follow them, and sending “thank you for the follow” messages to many of them, I gave up. It was a bigger job than I had expected.

I stopped to eat some pizza with my daughter and realized that in my robotic  “get more followers” frenzy, I had forgotten that I was on a low carb diet.

I knew at that moment, after the pizza was gone of course, that things had gone too far. I was in over my head.

My mailbox, that I had so painstakingly emptied last week when I was in my  GTD “getting things done” mode, was filled with over 150 emails from people who were following me. I realized that I didn’t know any of them.

None of my friends use twitter. They’re all on Facebook. I know that I’ll meet some fabulous people on twitter, but I’m not sure how long it will take me to get to know them. To relax, I logged on to my Facebook page and talked to some old friends. The world seemed  somehow slower, calm and peaceful there.

What are your experiences with twitter?

Does anyone have any tips for me?

Is there a better way of managing my tweets?

Should I increase my meds?

2 Responses to “Three things I learned about twitter today”


  1. 1 Nancy March 15, 2009 at 10:24 pm

    Definately … meds would help. Wow, so does Obama twitter? I knew about his blackberry! I think I will just stay with facebook and geni, but hey, I learned something today. You always have so much info. Thanks …

  2. 2 Nancy March 16, 2009 at 8:47 pm

    So now how many twitter friends do you have?


Leave a Reply

March 2009
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Self-Help Sites I love

Helpful Sites for Expats

Starcounter

counter easy hit

